Scott Barrett to captain Crusaders : Super Rugby 2024

All Blacks lock Scott Barrett will lead the Crusaders, as they attempt to win an unprecedented fourth straight Super Rugby crown.

With the departures of Ryan Crotty, Kieran Read and Matt Todd, Barrett has been chosen as the new skipper, while Sam Whitelock takes a year off from New Zealand rugby.

Scott Barrett

Speaking to Sky Sport, coach Scott Robertson raved about Barrett’s growing leadership credentials.

“Scott has a phenomenal work ethic and produces consistent performances for the Crusaders,” Robertson said.

“He’s well-respected by his teammates, as well as the coaching and management group, has great character and helps drive our team culture, so we see him as a natural fit to captain the side and congratulate ‘Scooter’ on this exciting opportunity.”

Crusaders squad: Michael Alaalatoa, Harry Allan, Scott Barrett (c), Ethan Blackadder, George Bower, Tom Christie, Whetukamokamo Douglas, Mitchell Dunshea, Cullen Grace, Billy Harmon, Sione Havili, Oliver Jager, Andrew Makalio, Brodie McAlister, Joe Moody, Luke Romano, Ethan Roots, Tom Sanders, Quinten Strange, Codie Taylor, Isi Tuungafasi, George Bridge, Fergus Burke, Brett Cameron, Mitchell Drummond, Ere Enari, Braydon Ennor, Leicester Faingaanuku, Inga Finau, Jack Goodhue, Bryn Hall, David Havili, Will Jordan, Manasa Mataele, Dallas McLeod, Richie Mo’unga, Fetuli Paea, Sevu Reece.

Read More > Super Rugby 2020: Scott Barrett named new Crusaders captain

Leave a Comment